Air Canada suspends 14 sun destinations

To share this publication :

Air Canada announced at the end of the day yesterday that it will suspend several destinations to the South. The suspended destinations are Antigua, Aruba, Samaná, Curaçao, Exuma, Grenada, Puerto Plata, Santo Domingo, Bermuda, Grand Cayman, Havana, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Martin/Sint Maarten and Saint—Kitts-and-Nevis. The measure will be in effect from January to April 30, 2022. The airline will operate several one-way flights in order to repatriate all of its customers. Passengers whose flights are cancelled will be entitled to a full refund.



This is very bad news, but it comes as no surprise when you look at the progression of the Omicron variant. After almost two years of a pandemic, this new wave is once again affecting airlines. Some destinations suspended by Air Canada are very popular and this suggests a sharp drop in demand. Air Canada, Air Transat, Sunwing and WestJet were relying heavily on resuming flights to the South in order to stop the financial drain. But alas, the Omicron variant decided otherwise. “The winter will be long and painful!” So we can expect more flight reduction announcements in the coming days.

>>> Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *